View Poll Results: Should this guide remain in our Guides section?

Voters
3. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, it's a very useful, accurate and well-written guide for the version it was written for.

    2 66.67%
  • Yes, but it needs some editing done for spelling and format.

    1 33.33%
  • No, there are better guides already here on this topic.

    0 0%
  • No, it's irrelevant/inaccurate/terribly written.

    0 0%
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: Aesculapian's Artefact Guide

  1. #11

    Join Date
    31 Jan 2009
    Location
    Out Back Down Under
    Posts
    671
    Thanks John, and many others who've said nice things and/or kindly repped me.

    Hmm - interesting point about the chiefing. The Pushing Rules say (in the context of same-computer/sitter Connection Types):

    Quote Originally Posted by http://archive.forum.travian.com.au/showthread.php?t=9232

    Exceptions


    *WW-Village can be supplied unlimited
    *WW-Village can be attacked and reinforced unlimited
    *WW-Village can always be conquered
    *Artifact-Village can be supplied with CROP unlimited
    *Artifact-Village can always be conquered
    The above exceptions override the CT3 and CT2 connections
    Now, I would take that to mean that chiefing an artefact village overrides the connection-type restrictions, not that it overrides the alliance restrictions. (In the same way, I wouldn't read 'Artifact-Village can always be conquered' as meaning that you can chief a capital with an artefact in it.)

    Does anyone have first-hand experience of this? Is it possible to chief an artifact village from an ally (without leaving the alliance)?
    Last edited by aesculapian; 11th January 2011 at 06:26 AM.

  2. #12
    tombo457's Avatar
    Join Date
    3 Sep 2009
    Location
    Scotland BABY!.
    Posts
    288
    Quote Originally Posted by aesculapian View Post
    Thanks John, and many others who've said nice things and/or kindly repped me.

    Hmm - interesting point about the chiefing. The Pushing Rules say (in the context of same-computer/sitter Connection Types):



    Now, I would take that to mean that chiefing an artefact village overrides the connection-type restrictions, not that it overrides the alliance restrictions. (In the same way, I wouldn't read 'Artifact-Village can always be conquered' as meaning that you can chief a capital with an artefact in it.)

    Does anyone have first-hand experience of this? Is it possible to chief an artifact village from an ally (without leaving the alliance)?
    Yes, I have done it with an artifact on ukx . As have many others there.

  3. #13
    howyoudoinau's Avatar
    Join Date
    6 Oct 2010
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    131
    Can any of the admins confirm this?

  4. #14

    Scythe's Avatar
    Join Date
    22 Jul 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,307
    Quote Originally Posted by aesculapian View Post
    Thanks John, and many others who've said nice things and/or kindly repped me.

    Hmm - interesting point about the chiefing. The Pushing Rules say (in the context of same-computer/sitter Connection Types):

    Quote Originally Posted by http://archive.forum.travian.com.au/showthread.php?t=9232

    Exceptions


    *WW-Village can be supplied unlimited
    *WW-Village can be attacked and reinforced unlimited
    *WW-Village can always be conquered
    *Artifact-Village can be supplied with CROP unlimited
    *Artifact-Village can always be conquered
    The above exceptions override the CT3 and CT2 connections
    Now, I would take that to mean that chiefing an artefact village overrides the connection-type restrictions, not that it overrides the alliance restrictions. (In the same way, I wouldn't read 'Artifact-Village can always be conquered' as meaning that you can chief a capital with an artefact in it.)

    Does anyone have first-hand experience of this? Is it possible to chief an artifact village from an ally (without leaving the alliance)?
    Basically, "Artifact-Village can always be conquered" means, well, that an artifact village can always be conquered. To perhaps make it clearer:

    • Wonder of the World villages can always be conquered as they cannot be the last village of the defender.
    • Artefact villages can always be conquered as long as they are not held in the last village or the capital of the defender.

    If you read through the post that your quote is from, you will see that the alliance friendly fire rules are embedded in the connection types rules (for example: "can raid bigger player unlimited (when in the same alliance 2 in this section applies)"). Therefore, when you read that the exceptions override the friendly fire rules, those friendly fire rules are the ones that apply both to connection types and allies.
    Last edited by Scythe; 21st January 2011 at 11:16 PM.

  5. #15

    Join Date
    31 Jan 2009
    Location
    Out Back Down Under
    Posts
    671
    Lovely - thanks for the clarification!

  6. #16
    LoD's Avatar
    Join Date
    5 Oct 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    161
    Any new comer in Travian ought to give this a read. As always, thorough as noone else, Amb. + rep.
    [13:24:30] Nikau: LoD, go kill something right now!
    [13:24:48] LoD: I can't - I'm farming the NW today.

  7. #17
    Cricketswool's Avatar
    Join Date
    25 Apr 2012
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    5

    Re: Aesculapian's Artefact Guide

    Excellent guide! I found holding a fool's artefact to be one of the most fun things I ever did. I suppose that says something about me?

    One quick question: In T4, is it still necessary to have a Hero's Mansion in the village that will house your artefact, or can you just set that village to your hero's home village?

  8. #18
    bennyboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    14 Feb 2010
    Posts
    612

    Re: Aesculapian's Artefact Guide

    Quote Originally Posted by Cricketswool View Post
    Excellent guide! I found holding a fool's artefact to be one of the most fun things I ever did. I suppose that says something about me?

    One quick question: In T4, is it still necessary to have a Hero's Mansion in the village that will house your artefact, or can you just set that village to your hero's home village?
    Pretty sure you can only do that if you have a hero's mansion in that village.
    Quote Originally Posted by rokchick View Post
    Bennyboy because I want to know if he really does wear tartan pants like in my imagination.



  9. #19
    The Insanity Project Mwesty's Avatar
    Join Date
    1 Jul 2009
    Location
    Dunedin NZ
    Posts
    1,475

    Re: Aesculapian's Artefact Guide

    Quote Originally Posted by bennyboy View Post
    Pretty sure you can only do that if you have a hero's mansion in that village.
    Note, capitals don't need a HM to be able to do this, but they generally would have one anyway.
    Au2 (Rd 1) Mwesty | Au3 (Rd 1) Mwesty |Au1 (Rd 2) Mwesty | Au2 (Rd 2) Settas |Au1 (Rd 3) El Sancho | Au5 (Rd 1) Swordax IV | Au1 (Rd 4) Electron
    Au2 (Rd 5) CodeSlave | Au3 (Rd 5) Hamish&Andy | Au4 (Rd 4) Factory | Au1 (Rd 7) .Q. | Au3 (Rd7) Quantum



  10. #20
    VVV's Avatar
    Join Date
    25 Feb 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,683

    Re: Aesculapian's Artefact Guide

    Aesc, a pretty good guide, but I think your combo guide really downplays the scout. An account scout, and villa training is an awesome combo - especially if you can stash a villa crop in your cropper as well. The account scount and villa training was the combo we chose when Squid built the 720K on au2 - we had a villa crop as well, but we put that in one of the boonie 150% 15Cs rather than the hammer account.

    The reason we went that way is that only the Unique Catta Scatter really works - an account level artefact will allow the treasury to be targeted, and then you can get a co-ordinated hit on your account scatter to steal, followed by chiefing on your hammer. With an account scout, you can see the chiefs incoming on your hammer - it's the better option if you can't get the unique scatter.

    All <3 to Hmphy-Bunny for the sig.


Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Artefact Analysis
    By John Smith in forum Server 1 Old Archives
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 24th November 2010, 01:43 AM
  2. Best Way To Get An Artefact?
    By John Smith in forum Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 15th August 2010, 07:11 AM
  3. artefact
    By Rabadi in forum Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27th January 2010, 07:21 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •